01 December 2009

Post 108

Have I reached blogger enlightenment? Have I reached blogger heaven?

(His Holiness the 17th Gyalwa Karmapa, Ogyen Trinley Dorje)

There are 108 beads on my rosary. In many sutras, there are 108 steps to enlightenment -- like the Lankavatara Sutra. Many Japanese buddhist temples have 108 steps. The preliminary practices of tantric yoga include 108,000 special prayers, 108,000 recitations of a special mantra, 108,000 offerings of the universe, and 108,000 tantric devotional practices.

Each Hindu god has 108 names. Shiva has 108 dance poses. Vishnu has 108 temples. In Jyotisa, Hindu astrology, there are 12 zodiacs and 9 planets (12 x 9 = 108) or 27 lunar houses divided into four quarters (27 x 4 = 108). There are 108 petals on the cosmic flower of the heart (anahata) chakra used in higher forms of yoga like bhakti yoga and kundalini yoga.

Well, actually, I think the answer is no. As soon as you reach 108 in any of these systems, you end up back at one (from the one comes two, from two comes three, and from three comes the fourth as one). You just enter a deeper layer or higher layer (as the epistemology may be). What say you dear reader?


  1. i stopped counting the time i realized i always go back to one ...

    or zero.

  2. i'm not really sure if you've reached blogger heaven but i do know that it's been a blast! you're one of my favorite bloggers.

  3. you have always been a source of light to your readers and to your blog buddies....

    wow... i should take care of myself more... maybe if i live to be 108... i will automatically transform into a beautiful princess.... hihihihihi

  4. cb: the feeling is mutual!

    yj: lol. ilokana ka! all roads lead to office of a princess!

  5. Wow, congratulations, line of flight, for your 108th post! Keep all those interesting posts coming!